On Saturday, August 30, at the meeting of the European Council, the Heads of State and Government of the European Union asked the European Commission (EC) to draw up new Russia sanction proposals in view of the serious escalation of the situation in Ukraine. It is also planned to expand the list of individuals and legal entities subject to certain restrictions due to their involvement in destabilisation of the situation in Eastern Ukraine.


Latvia condemns the invasion of Ukrainian territory by armed forces of the Russian Federation. This represents open aggression against the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine and undermines the fundamental principles of international law. The offensive actions undertaken by the Russian Federation pose a threat to peace and stability throughout Europe. 


On August 30, at the special meeting of the European Council, the Heads of State or Government of the European Union elected Donald Tusk, Prime Minister of Poland, as President of the European Council, thus concluding the discussion on the appointment of its top ranking officials. The Council also appointed Federica Mogherini, Foreign Affairs Minister of Italy, as High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy.


On Tuesday, August 26, the government familiarised itself with the results of the national minorities’ survey “Sense of Belonging to Latvia” and assigned the line ministries to prepare proposals fo




36 Brīvības Boulevard, Riga, LV-1520



67082934, 67082800, 80000120